May Favourites​

Screen Shot 2019-05-24 at 12.48.20 PM

Hello book lovers! To celebrate today being Friday, I am coming at you with another new series I am starting on my blog – monthly favorites! On the final posting day of each month, I am sharing 5 things with you that I have been adoring. The categories will range from beauty to clothing, books to food and whatever else I discover. So to celebrate this new series, today I am bringing you my May favorites!

Glossier

1. Glossier’s Bubblewrap Eye + Lip Cream. When I first saw the advertisements for this product, I was quite reluctant as I didn’t know if Glossier was just overpricing an eye cream or if it would even work. However, once again, Glossier proved me wrong! I have been using this product for over two weeks and I have already seen a difference. If you are in the market for an eye (and lip) cream that does wonders to the undereye, plumps the lips (just a bit) and creates a smooth base for undereye concealer, I highly recommend you try this one!

– Just a reminder that Glossier has a 14-day return policy so if you aren’t a fan or have an allergic reaction, send it their way for a full refund!

Link

Skirt

2. Monki’s Pleated Midi Skirt. I finally found a midi skirt that fits me perfectly, is a super cute print AND has pockets – what more could I ask for? I got the Floral Print but I am already planning on buying at least one more in another print. I am just making myself wait until I get a job – gotta love an award system! It has fake buttons and an elastic waistline so it’s super comfortable, can be dressed up or down and will be a perfect addition to your Spring/Summer wardrobe.

Link

Podcast

3. My Favourite Murder Podcast. Now I must admit that I have been a fan of this podcast for the past few years BUT I have been absolutely addicted to it this month. If you are a fan of true crime, I would like to welcome you to your new best friend. Karen Gilgariff and Georgia Hardstark are two friends who created the podcast to discuss a passion of theirs – they are hilarious and always bring a smile to my face. Each week they come out with a 1 hour+ episode discussing interesting true crime stories they researched and then on another day they post a ‘mini-episode’ where they share hometown crime stories sent in by readers. Those are my favorite because you get to hear the stories of how people found out AND hear the honest reactions from Karen and Georgia which is always amusing.

I particularly love to put this podcast on while working on my blog, cleaning and cooking because it somehow always manages to hold my attention, brings me joy and teaches me fun facts. I’m an absolute sucker for Law and Order SVU and true crime documentaries so this was a perfect podcast for me to discover. They are also coming out with a memoir, Stay Sexy and Don’t Get Murdered, tomorrow so be sure to check that out too! I know I’ll be running to the store on release day.

Link

Trainers

4. Adidas’ Stan Smith Trainers. Two months ago, I was on the hunt for a perfect pair of trainers that would be suitable for a publishing office job and could be dressed up or down throughout the seasons. Part of me didn’t want to join the trend but once I tried on the pair, I couldn’t say no. They were so easy to break in (minus a few days with a heel blister), look great with whatever outfit and are overall great versatile trainers.

Link

Bottle

5. Chilly’s Bottle. I have been trying to be much more aware of my waste and ways to help the environment over the past nine months. A big change for me was investing in a reusable bottle. After lots of research and debates with myself, I settled on ordering a Chilly’s Bottle – yes it costs £30 but if you take the time to do the math, you end up saving the money AND helping the environment. It’s a win-win! I ordered a 500ml one as it equals out to the size of an average plastic water bottle, it fits nicely into any of my bags and it keeps your water cool no matter the weather. Even if this is the only change you make for the coming month of June (though I hope it won’t be), every step helps!

Link

May Favourites

And that’s it for my May’s favorites! I hope that you guys enjoy this new series and find a few things (or more) that pique your interest. I highly recommend them and would be happy to answer any questions you may have – just leave them down below in the comments section! Now bring on June! Until next time. x

Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 9.39.36 PM


Leave a comment