June Wrap-Up

JuneWrap-UpTitle

This was definitely my best reading month yet for the summer. I read three books, listened to one audiobook and have started a new series. Thanks to traveling to pack out of my dorm and finding really good books, I didn’t have trouble with choosing reading time over sleep nor TV. It’s about time I got back into my reading habits.

Finished: 

Unfiltered (Lily Collins)

This was hands down the best memoir I have ever read. It was raw and complex, causing me to have an even greater respect for Collins as both a woman and a writer. To feel confident with publishing such honest pieces discussing touchy subjects is amazing and I highly recommend reading this if you are a fan of her’s. I am still working on the review for it and will hopefully post it in about a week’s time.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Mark Haddon)

I recently posted a review for this one so I won’t say much besides the fact that I struggled reading it but am glad that I finished it. It definitely wasn’t as good as I hoped for it to be but I finished it and that is what counts, right?

The Book Thief (Mark Zusak)

This was hand’s down the best book that I have read so far this year and in a very long time. It was amazing and I highly recommend it! I am hoping to work on the review soon too but what I can say now is that I think that everyone needs to read this book at least once in their lifetime. It gives you another perspective and touching side for Nazi Germany and those who were stuck living under the evil.

Listened To: 

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Becky Albertalli)

This was the first audio book that I have completed and I absolutely loved it. I am hoping to buy an actual copy of it soon so that I can re-read it (yes it really is that good) but I loved the voice of the reader and it added to the experience so I highly recommend it as both editions.

A12E80EF-42AB-420A-AB2F-9439F00F3C04

Currently Reading: 

City of Bones (Cassandra Clare)

I am only one hundred pages into this one so I can’t say too much about it yet but I am so excited to be starting a series for the first time in a while and I am really intrigued by it all.

Fingers crossed that July is another good reading month!

 

 

 


2 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

  1. The Mortal Instruments is so good, Athena, I’m genuinely jealous that you get to read it for the first time. I really want to read Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, if you’re looking for another audiobook I highly recommend Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (really good plus Lin Manuel Miranda narrates)!

    Like

Leave a comment