Review: Unfiltered by Lily Collins

UnfilteredTitle

Title: Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me

Author: Lily Collins

Genre: Nonfiction

Edition: Hardback

Goodreads Blurb: “In this groundbreaking debut essay collection, featuring never-before-seen photos, actress Lily Collins—star of Mortal Instruments and the upcoming Rules Don’t Apply—is opening a poignant, honest conversation about the things young women struggle with: body image, self-confidence, relationships, family, dating, and so much more.

For the first time ever, Lily shares her life and her own deepest secrets, underlining that every single one of us experiences pain and heartbreak. We all understand what it’s like to live in the light and in the dark. For Lily, it’s about making it through to the other side, where you love what you see in the mirror and where you embrace yourself just as you are. She’s learned that all it takes is one person standing up and saying something for everyone else to realize they’re not alone.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Lily’s honest voice will inspire you to be who you are and say what you feel. It’s time to claim your voice! It’s time to live your life unfiltered.”


Unfiltered was the book that finally got me out of my summer reading slump. Having just finished my first year of uni, one in which I was constantly reading (both for leisure and academics), I allowed myself to take a much-needed break. This book had the refreshing touch to bring me back into wanting to make the time to read and not wanting to stop. Lily Collins wrote this book in the form of small essays – I rarely enjoy books written like this as they typically lack a good flow but she was able to achieve one that was highly enjoyable to read.

Collins proved herself to be capable of speaking of her truthful past, accepting how vulnerable she would feel while writing and knowing that it would reach out to people who needed to hear her words. To know that they are not alone. Overall, I found the book to be raw, emotional and beautiful. All of which I haven’t found in a nonfiction/memoir type book in

04E25467-B032-41FD-B6A1-AA65CC34C071

a very long time, if possibly ever. I found myself staying up past 3 am, reading for hours straight, because I knew that each topic would lead into another and I didn’t want to stop.

The best part of this book was that it was a complex and complete experience. Collins was able to write it so that you not only get to understand her as an individual and her experiences, but also yours. The inspirational quotes and open opinions throughout all of it provides something to always think about and apply to all of her stories. Although I have not experienced everything that she has, nor to the degree that she has, it was still comforting to read someone who is so honest and relatable. There was no shame – only the truth.

“Healing is an ongoing process, and I will be working through my disorders for the rest of my life. But I know now that there is a greater happiness to be attained in this world: the happiness of enjoying myself to the fullest during the one life I have and accepting myself for who I am while I’m living it.”

I must admit that a lot of the topics are controversial ones – things that people are touchy about discussing, hearing and reading. But I personally felt that it was all handled well. I didn’t feel uncomfortable nor sick to my stomach. Rather it was just Collins being raw and honest, sharing her experiences and not in an asking-for-pitty type of way. If you are a fan of her’s and or have dealt with problems such as eating disorders, family members who are alcoholics or abusive relationships, I highly recommend reading this book. It was such a quick and enjoyable read for me – definitely worth the money.

Would I suggest this book to a friend?: Yes.

Do I love Lily Collins even more now?: Yes.

Goodreads Rating: 5/5

Rating5

 


Leave a comment